Current Guy Issues

Last night I went to see Blade Runner.  And Milo came with me.  Just the two of us.  He didn’t call anybody–or if he did, nobody else showed up.  So yeah…just us two.

When it was over, we walked out to the parking lot, where I reminded him he had mail, so I went digging through my purse for…The Letter.  Because this is how I had decided to do it at last.  When I finally found it, I said, matter-of-factly, “I’ve had this for about two years; it’s sort of irrelevant now, but you need to have it, not me,” and handed it to him; then I took out the mail and things and explained the rest in the same random and matter-of-fact way.  Without missing a beat, really.  It was great.

Right, so…current guy issues.  On Friday, I asked the dishwasher out.  He said no.  I’m serious!  I totally wasn’t expecting it, either; it took me completely by surprise.

I approached him, all serious because I really wanted to know, and said, “Hey…do you want to go out with me?”

He looked at me, also very serious, and said, “No.”  Then, looking all around as if he actually expected somebody to be standing nearby, he said, “Who told you that!?”

“No, nobody…I was just asking, would you like to?”

“Oh.”  There was silence for a moment.  I had to say something.

“I’ve only got one day off a week,” I said.

“What day is that?”

“Saturday.”

Another silence.  Then, “I think I’m hanging out with my friend Chad tomorrow….”

“Oh, no that’s fine, I’m doing something tomorrow, anyway.”

Yet another silence.  Finally I said, “Well, if you’re interested…let me know,” and walked away.

I’ve got a date next week, anyway.  With John.  Here’s the problem (there is always a problem, of course).  I know he likes me, and yes, I do like him, but….  And that’s just it.  Whenever I try to explain this, I say that I like him, but…and never know how to finish the sentence.  So obviously there’s something.  I don’t know what.  I just know there was never a “but” when I used to talk about Milo.

And as far as the dishwasher goes, well that’s just what I get for trying to get involved with a younger guy.  Shame!  Never again, I swear.  I don’t know what that was.

And in another plot twist no one saw coming…

Apparently, the dishwasher quit the night I asked him out.  Nobody really knows why, but by all means, presume what you will.

Author: GinnyJones

I was born on 3/5/97 in this horrible small town in southern Virginia. Now I live in Jacksonville, Florida and I am here to tell you about my life--my friends, my family, love, school, work, extra-curriculars--minus specifics, of course. What I Do: I'm in school full-time getting my AA. I used to work part-time as the secretary for a small property management business; now I work in a university cafeteria, which is a major improvement! It's harder work, but the people make up for it. Things I Like: Harrison Ford, Harry Potter, Doctor Who, Sherlock, Emmy Rossum, Shameless (US), Being Human (UK & US), The Walking Dead, Once Upon A Time, Superman, comic conventions, cosplay...I could go on. But I won't. Cast of Characters: - Mom and Dad: my parents - Sister/Psychobrat: my younger sister - Brother: my even younger brother - Cortney and Nicole: my best friends - Milo: the guy I love - Tinny: my work friend - Kristen: friend from school - Katie: friend from school - Jenna and Kara: sister friends - The Ex: Milo's evil ex

Leave a Reply

