Katie & Ginny & the Epic Escape from World Religions

I am telling you—our teacher hates us.  (Hated us—it’s over, finally.)

We presented our project this week.  It took forever to make with all the sound effects and everything, and we weren’t even sure until we got up there if they were going to work.  We were both scared, seriously, so when we clicked and Samuel L. Jackson started ranting, I couldn’t withhold a verbal, “YES!”

Of course, Needs-A-Nickname had no idea what sound effects were on our project, so he looked rather sheepish standing there, reading stuff off the projection screen, and listening to everything for the first time along with the rest of the class.

But nobody had a conniption fit.  In fact, they all sat there saying it along with Samuel L. Jackson.  Here we were hoping they’d think we’re heathens, and the entire class has Pulp Fiction by memory.  Including Rain Man.

And then we click to the next slide, and it says “CHRISTIANITY AND CREATION” in huge letters, and there’s this starry-planety-sky, and the Star Wars theme starts blasting, and I’m gone…I can’t stop laughing by this point.  I’d told Needs-A-Nickname that he wouldn’t have to read everything, I’d help, but I stood there laughing straight through our entire report.  There was no chance I’d get one line out.  Katie finally pulled me back as if to say, “Forget it; just leave it to him.”

We actually got a standing ovation from a few people, and they were all shouting that we’d done so well (like they were surprised or something—odd).

Stephanie smiled.  That’s probably not a good thing.  As I put it (and Katie had been thinking exactly the same thing), while everybody else was laughing and saying, “Hey, that was really good,” she was laughing, “Mwahahahaha, now I can fail you.”  She’s evil, she is.

And here’s further evidence:  After class today (I’d already gone, because I leave on time so I can get to work when I’m supposed to), Katie approached her with the writing assignments she’d been working on all night.

Stephanie said, “You can’t make up a field trip,” with that same sweet smile she’d presented me with when I informed her I couldn’t make the trip to the Indian restaurant.

Katie said, “What do you mean?  I had to work; I couldn’t go to the field trips.”

Still with that eerie smile, Stephanie repeated, “You can’t make up a field trip.”

It says plainly (which is huge for her) in the syllabus that any missed field trips can be made up with a 300-500-word writing assignment.  There are even examples of the sorts of writing assignments you can do.  So Katie intends to e-mail said portions of the syllabus back to her, see what happens.

I’m just so very glad to be rid of the cult.  SO GLAD.  JFC.

Author: GinnyJones

I was born on 3/5/97 in this horrible small town in southern Virginia. Now I live in Jacksonville, Florida and I am here to tell you about my life--my friends, my family, love, school, work, extra-curriculars--minus specifics, of course. What I Do: I'm in school full-time getting my AA. I used to work part-time as the secretary for a small property management business; now I work in a university cafeteria, which is a major improvement! It's harder work, but the people make up for it. Things I Like: Harrison Ford, Harry Potter, Doctor Who, Sherlock, Emmy Rossum, Shameless (US), Being Human (UK & US), The Walking Dead, Once Upon A Time, Superman, comic conventions, cosplay...I could go on. But I won't. Cast of Characters: - Mom and Dad: my parents - Sister/Psychobrat: my younger sister - Brother: my even younger brother - Cortney and Nicole: my best friends - Milo: the guy I love - Tinny: my work friend - Kristen: friend from school - Katie: friend from school - Jenna and Kara: sister friends - The Ex: Milo's evil ex

Leave a Reply

