Disturbing Behavior

Hello, followers and lurkers!

I know I never update anymore, but as I am constantly pointing out, that is only temporary until the end of summer semester!  I’m going to have to go back and read some old daily entries or something and see just what the hell it is I used to talk about every day, sometimes a couple of times a day.

I stayed up late last night studying–really late–for this test today, and I was determined to do well on it!  So I took these online interactive quizzes that correspond to the chapters in my book, and I didn’t do too great on them…so I kept on going, repeating it over and over until I knew every answer.

Of course, none of these questions, or anything really remotely like them, were on the test, so who knows?  Maybe I passed; that’d be nice.

Thursday is the last day, thank goodness!  I can’t stand our World Religions class.  I have to say I think it’s positively the worst class I’ve ever been in.  I don’t know how else to describe it except as a cult.  They all think as one monstrous entity; it’s really scary!  And our teacher has no idea what the hell she’s talking about–well, no, she does know what she’s talking about, she just doesn’t know how to convey the information so that it makes any logical sense.  I don’t think anybody knows what their grades are, not that it matters…I have a feeling everybody but us is passing.

Get this–we have this huge group project we had to do, right…due today.  She’d been saying for a week that it was due today.

Then the weekend rolls around, and Katie and I neglect to go to three field trips with the entire rest of the class (who didn’t really miss us but acted like they did just to try and make us feel bad for not participating), and suddenly, they all come in yesterday with their projects done, ready to present, and our teacher says, “Okay, everybody got their projects ready to present today?”–and they all did.

Except for us.  And I suspect that this was done deliberately; she changed the date over the weekend while we weren’t there, just because.  I’m telling you, they hate us.

Fortunately, because of said teacher’s propensity for talking nonstop about random crap all class long, (well, not all class–half an hour into class until 45 minutes to an hour after it’s over) only one group actually went yesterday, and we have a test today, so we won’t have to worry about it today, either.  We’ll be ready for tomorrow.

Our project is great.  It’s snazzy; everyone else’s will pale in comparison.  This is when we will either sweep them all off their feet and win our way back into their hearts with our brilliance…or just drown miserably, as we have consistently done since sometime in the first week of class.

I think what’ll keep us afloat is that we have Needs-A-Nickname in our group.  It’s the three of us.  Needs-A-Nickname is on the inside.  This is the one who missed about three straight weeks of class, but came back just as much a part of it all as anyone ever was.  They welcomed him back with open arms and prize sheep!  But Katie and I, we miss a couple of days, and we’re devil-girls.  (I’m serious; that’s what they called us yesterday for having missed all of the field trips.)

As far as we can figure out, the only reason Needs-A-Nickname (who, assuredly, does believe we’re insane) is willing to fraternize with us is because he was gone for so long and doesn’t quite understand the class’s hatred of us.  At one time, we had a handful of people like this–they thought we were weird, but we weren’t outcasts to them–but gradually, they all became brainwashed, and now we have only Needs-A-Nickname…until they get him, too.  It’s like freaking…what’s the name of that movie…well, it’s like a lot of movies, actually…but I’m thinking of…Disturbing Behavior.  That’s the one.

Anyway, for our project, from what we could figure out from Stephanie’s (that’s the teacher) garbled notes, we were to compare Christianity, Islam, and Judaism–three major themes that each share.  So we’re doing creation, marriage, and peace.

For creation, we’re playing the Star Wars theme (it’s on PowerPoint) just because it randomly occurred to Katie to use, and I agreed with it.  Somewhere in there (probably a basic intro or the conclusion) there’s that picture of God from Monty Python and the Holy Grail–heh.

We’re playing the “mawwaige” quote from The Princess Bride, and at the very start of it all, we’re playing that quote from Pulp Fiction, Ezekiel something-or-other, right before Samuel L. Jackson blows somebody’s brains out (which is included on the sound effects).  Picture it:  We’ll be standing up there, with our PowerPoint, looking relatively normal, playing this seemingly relevant Bible verse, and then all of a sudden!  Rain Man will have a conniption fit.  (Needs-A-Nickname might, too, for that matter, because he’s doing most of the speaking–since he was unable to help create anything–and he doesn’t know what’s coming.)

We’re going to follow the mawwaige quote (accompanied by a picture of Westley and Buttercup kissing) with “All I Ask of You”…and then at the end, for peace, we’ve got a quote from the Sermon on the Mount–“Blessed are the peacemakers”, which will be accompanied by the sound-effect-quote, “Blessed are the cheesemakers,” from Monty Python’s Life of Brian.  And then to balance everything out, at the end we’re going to play “Imagine”, by John Lennon.  Hooray.  We’re going to have fun.

…And this isn’t even as outlandish as it could have been, not by a long shot.  You should hear what we were going to do.

Author: GinnyJones

I was born on 3/5/97 in this horrible small town in southern Virginia. Now I live in Jacksonville, Florida and I am here to tell you about my life--my friends, my family, love, school, work, extra-curriculars--minus specifics, of course. What I Do: I'm in school full-time getting my AA. I used to work part-time as the secretary for a small property management business; now I work in a university cafeteria, which is a major improvement! It's harder work, but the people make up for it. Things I Like: Harrison Ford, Harry Potter, Doctor Who, Sherlock, Emmy Rossum, Shameless (US), Being Human (UK & US), The Walking Dead, Once Upon A Time, Superman, comic conventions, cosplay...I could go on. But I won't. Cast of Characters: - Mom and Dad: my parents - Sister/Psychobrat: my younger sister - Brother: my even younger brother - Cortney and Nicole: my best friends - Milo: the guy I love - Tinny: my work friend - Kristen: friend from school - Katie: friend from school - Jenna and Kara: sister friends - The Ex: Milo's evil ex

Leave a Reply

