Psychobrat’s Attention Issues

Psychobrat, as you all know, has anger issues.  But, as I discussed with Cort earlier tonight, I don’t feel that it’s so much anger issues as it is attention issues.  Psychobrat can’t act, and it’s nearly always obvious when she’s faking something.

So when she gets “angry”, there is always much yelling and cursing, and often much crying, as well.  She will hit things or Brother as the urge arises, and slam doors, and do everything she can to be sure people notice.  It goes on until I wonder if she even cares anything at all about the anger-inducing stimulant, or if she only cares about the attention.

Today she was sitting at the computer while I was in my room changing for work.  I heard her start making noises, and then the pounding sound as she lifted the keyboard and smacked it against the desk several times.  She then did this with the mouse.

Milo once told me about a time that she did this while I wasn’t around, and how much he thought she looked like an ape as she did.  So, not being within eyesight, I pictured a big hairy chimp, banging the keyboard around and screeching, “YOU F—ING MACHINE!”

I moved into the kitchen to look for a snack.  She headed out the back door.  I didn’t know or care what she could possibly be doing out there, until I heard the pounding, which meant she was kicking the porch.

As I was checking the fridge, she walked briskly and purposefully back into the house, into the kitchen, past me, and out to the garage, where she grabbed one of those flat-head broom things, and headed out the back door once again.

I had no idea what was about to happen here, so of course I had to find out.  I looked out the back door and saw her hitting the tree continuously with the broom.  Um…okay?

I wasted no time.  I grabbed my phone and started snapping pictures.  At one point, I yelled, “Smile!”

She appeared to be trying not to laugh.  Angry…right.  As I said to Cort before, even if she had originally been angry enough to whack a tree with a broom, it had worn off.  This wasn’t instinct.  She had had plenty of time in there to cool off, between, “Grr, I’m pissed,” and, “Hey, why don’t I get a funky-looking broom out of the garage so I can hit this tree?”, and then the walk to the garage and back.  That’s not anger; that’s “Watch me make a spectacle of myself.”

Well, I am practically asleep now; I’m typing with my eyes shut.  I’ll post this and then get to bed.

Author: GinnyJones

I was born on 3/5/97 in this horrible small town in southern Virginia. Now I live in Jacksonville, Florida and I am here to tell you about my life--my friends, my family, love, school, work, extra-curriculars--minus specifics, of course. What I Do: I'm in school full-time getting my AA. I used to work part-time as the secretary for a small property management business; now I work in a university cafeteria, which is a major improvement! It's harder work, but the people make up for it. Things I Like: Harrison Ford, Harry Potter, Doctor Who, Sherlock, Emmy Rossum, Shameless (US), Being Human (UK & US), The Walking Dead, Once Upon A Time, Superman, comic conventions, cosplay...I could go on. But I won't. Cast of Characters: - Mom and Dad: my parents - Sister/Psychobrat: my younger sister - Brother: my even younger brother - Cortney and Nicole: my best friends - Milo: the guy I love - Tinny: my work friend - Kristen: friend from school - Katie: friend from school - Jenna and Kara: sister friends - The Ex: Milo's evil ex

Leave a Reply

