Circles and Lines

I actually provided my teacher with answers today in my history class.  I’ve done that before, and I’m always shocked when I actually know stuff.  Like today, we’re starting to talk about World War II, and she said, “Now, everybody knows two of the three major fascist dictators of the time—Hitler in Germany, and Mussolini in Italy.  But everybody always forgets the third man, and the third country.  Does anybody know…?”

Nobody said anything, so she turned to start writing on the board, and I called out, “Generalissimo Franco, Spain.”

She turned to look at me and said, “Very good, Ginny, thank you.”

I didn’t explain that I only know this random bit of trivia because of You’ve Got Mail.  I didn’t think that was relevant.

There was another moment when she was talking about fascism and communism, and how they’re at complete opposite ends of the political spectrum (which she demonstrated by spreading her hands wider and wider), and yet people get them confused and they appear so similar.

So I’m sitting there thinking, “Well, of course; it’s not a line, it’s a circle.  If she spreads her hands any wider, they’re going to start getting closer together again, behind her back.”  And so it made perfect sense to me, these two opposites blending together because they’re sitting right next to each other behind my teacher’s back.  And she’s asking anyone if they have any ideas as to why two complete opposites would look so similar.  Nobody said anything.

And then she said, “Well, political scholars like to say that it’s not a line; it’s more of a circle.”  And she went on to explain exactly what had been going through my head the last few minutes.  I was so in shock over the fact that my mind had apparently been working exactly the way it was supposed to!

Then I fell asleep in the next class.

Work wasn’t bad at all tonight, but tomorrow they’re doing that totally stupid thing where they serve nothing but ice cream on the other side, so everyone will have to come to our side to eat anything real.  We’re going to be swamped—fun.

TiNY told me earlier that I would probably be good at learning languages because I “read situations well and have lots of common sense”.  I’m writing that here so I’ll remember because it made me feel good.  Thanks, TiNY!

Okay, now I’m going to post this so I can focus on motionlessly staring at my homework for a bit longer.

Author: GinnyJones

I was born on 3/5/97 in this horrible small town in southern Virginia. Now I live in Jacksonville, Florida and I am here to tell you about my life--my friends, my family, love, school, work, extra-curriculars--minus specifics, of course. What I Do: I'm in school full-time getting my AA. I used to work part-time as the secretary for a small property management business; now I work in a university cafeteria, which is a major improvement! It's harder work, but the people make up for it. Things I Like: Harrison Ford, Harry Potter, Doctor Who, Sherlock, Emmy Rossum, Shameless (US), Being Human (UK & US), The Walking Dead, Once Upon A Time, Superman, comic conventions, cosplay...I could go on. But I won't. Cast of Characters: - Mom and Dad: my parents - Sister/Psychobrat: my younger sister - Brother: my even younger brother - Cortney and Nicole: my best friends - Milo: the guy I love - Tinny: my work friend - Kristen: friend from school - Katie: friend from school - Jenna and Kara: sister friends - The Ex: Milo's evil ex

Leave a Reply

