A Coca-Cola Bear

This morning, I was watching what appeared to be a British reality show on PBS.  It was called Manor House, and was about these people who move into one and then all play the roles of different members of a household from late-19th-century England.  I was getting pretty into it, but then there was some sort of explosion from my dad about conspiracies, Scientologists, Satanists, John Travolta, Clint Eastwood, etc.

I escaped to Milo’s room and just talked to him about random things for about two hours, after which time I had to leave this situation and go to work.

I should mention the Coca-Cola bear.

About a year ago, when Milo was first moving out of Nicole’s house, I was there one day, and somehow spotted a tiny shiny spot in the carpet.  I picked it up and discovered a little Coca-Cola bear charm.  Nobody seemed to recognize it, and I decided that if we couldn’t figure out whose it was, I wanted to make a necklace out of it.

Later we realized it was Milo’s (which made me want it even more), so I gave it to him.

And then a bit later, when he was moving out, and I was helping him pack, I found the bear sitting on the dresser, and slipped it into this big plastic carton.

I thought he had emptied the contents of this carton (and thus lost the bear again) a long time ago, but I still really wanted this little bear, for some reason.

So this morning, I finally mentioned the bear.  I didn’t want to seem obsessive, so I didn’t say, “I know it’s in such-and-such container”…I just said, “If you find it, I want it,” and he said, “It’s probably long gone by now.”

I got home from work today and went out to his room, and he was emptying that plastic container, which has been under his bed all this time.  I immediately said, “OH!  That’s where the bear is!  Did you find it!?  I want it!”

He said, “What bear?”

I said, “The Coca-Cola bear!”

He said, “Oh…no, I haven’t seen it, but you’re welcome to look…good luck,” and just kinda laughed.

I went digging.  And I found it.  I held it up over my head and heard the Hallelujah chorus.

And then he gave me a boxing kangaroo pen, too.  Too cool.

Author: GinnyJones

I was born on 3/5/97 in this horrible small town in southern Virginia. Now I live in Jacksonville, Florida and I am here to tell you about my life--my friends, my family, love, school, work, extra-curriculars--minus specifics, of course. What I Do: I'm in school full-time getting my AA. I used to work part-time as the secretary for a small property management business; now I work in a university cafeteria, which is a major improvement! It's harder work, but the people make up for it. Things I Like: Harrison Ford, Harry Potter, Doctor Who, Sherlock, Emmy Rossum, Shameless (US), Being Human (UK & US), The Walking Dead, Once Upon A Time, Superman, comic conventions, cosplay...I could go on. But I won't. Cast of Characters: - Mom and Dad: my parents - Sister/Psychobrat: my younger sister - Brother: my even younger brother - Cortney and Nicole: my best friends - Milo: the guy I love - Tinny: my work friend - Kristen: friend from school - Katie: friend from school - Jenna and Kara: sister friends - The Ex: Milo's evil ex

Leave a Reply

