A Byline and an Interview

I was a few minutes late to my Journalism class this morning (they were right in the middle of the quiz, which I did not take).  There was hardly anyone there at all.  Like 10 total, perhaps, including that guy who’s only been to like three classes ever.  But the important thing is, I did make it!

After class, I headed to the library like usual, and noticed that the new school paper was out.  I picked it up, like I always do, to sort of skim headlines, see what stories other people are doing, try to scrounge up some sort of idea for my next one, and perhaps even scan through some of the stories themselves to note writing styles and what makes it into the paper.

I turn to page 4 and see a headline—something about FSCJ students and gay characters in cartoons, and think angrily, “Hey!  That was mine; who stole it!?” and I look at the byline (not that I expected to recognize the name, but that was instinct)….

…And it’s me.  It was my story.  It got published and I didn’t even know it.  Weird, huh?  And cool—because now every nerd at FSCJ who actually reads the school paper will see what I wrote.

I should get extra credit for that or something.

And speaking of stories, I finally had my lunch interview today for the story which was due a week and a half ago (the class that I slept through).  My subject was really cool.  It was so odd to be talking with a teacher like that, like all buddy-buddy!  It almost felt like a date, after the interview itself was over; making polite, though friendly, conversation, jumping from random topic to random topic (Victorian houses, glasses vs. contacts, downtown Jax, ghosts and spirits, to mention a few).

That’s about all that’s new for now.

Author: GinnyJones

I was born on 3/5/97 in this horrible small town in southern Virginia. Now I live in Jacksonville, Florida and I am here to tell you about my life--my friends, my family, love, school, work, extra-curriculars--minus specifics, of course. What I Do: I'm in school full-time getting my AA. I used to work part-time as the secretary for a small property management business; now I work in a university cafeteria, which is a major improvement! It's harder work, but the people make up for it. Things I Like: Harrison Ford, Harry Potter, Doctor Who, Sherlock, Emmy Rossum, Shameless (US), Being Human (UK & US), The Walking Dead, Once Upon A Time, Superman, comic conventions, cosplay...I could go on. But I won't. Cast of Characters: - Mom and Dad: my parents - Sister/Psychobrat: my younger sister - Brother: my even younger brother - Cortney and Nicole: my best friends - Milo: the guy I love - Tinny: my work friend - Kristen: friend from school - Katie: friend from school - Jenna and Kara: sister friends - The Ex: Milo's evil ex

Leave a Reply

