A Work Tale

Tonight at work, Tinny and I were serving like usual, and this hot guy who I ’d never seen before came through the line.  When he got to me, I was dishing something onto his plate, when he said, “Jones?”

Remember that time a hot guy coming through the line asked if I was Lesley Jones’s daughter, and he ended up being somebody who works with her?  Yeah.  I remembered that immediately, but when this guy said, “Jones?” like that, I looked up at him sharply, wondering how in the hell this guy could possibly know my last name.  Did there just happen to be two hot guys coming through my line who work with my mom?

I said, “Yeah…how did you know that?”

His response, which was difficult to hear over the sneezeguards, included the word “sister” in it somewhere.

“What?” I said.

He said, “You’re Ginny, right?” leaning over to take a better look at my nametag.

“Yeah…” I said, still with nary a clue of who he was.

“I live in your neighborhood,” he said.

I must have looked clueless as I pondered this.  I’d noted that he had a slight Hispanic look to him, so I briefly wondered if he was related to that Jaime jerk that Psychobrat used to hang out with.  (This may be an unfair statement; I don’t really know if Jaime was a jerk, or if I only considered him to be such because he hung out with her; he may have stopped hanging out with her because he wasn’t a jerk.  But regardless….)

He said, “The Valley…right?”

I said, “Yeah…?”

He just looked at me, and I said, “I’m sorry; what’s your name?”

He said, “T.J.”

I continued to look at him skeptically as I thought, “I know a T.J, but this isn’t him.”

And then something in his eyes just…flashed at me, and I said, “OHH……..T.J.!

He laughed, and I laughed, too, thinking what an idiot I was, and I said, “I had no idea!  I didn’t even recognize you!  How have you been?  It’s been forever since I saw you last!”

I was completely wrong with all of my ponderings throughout this whole thing.  T.J. is in no way a jerk, nor has he ever been.  Their family has always been nice; and I have known them longer than any other people in Jacksonville, as we met them the day we moved in.  But since we’re no longer on the same street, I don’t see them as much…so I think it actually has been a couple years since I’d seen him.  He just looks…older.  And still hot as ever.

I actually haven’t had very detailed dreams lately; at least, not much that I can remember.  I was telling Milo that all my dreams this week had been of me or one of our friends going to a different country, and I said, “Wonder who’s going to go out of the country tonight,” and he laughed and said, “It’s going to be somebody different every night, and then watch, I’ll end up in some stupid place like Quebec.  You’ll see me standing there in front of a road sign that reads ‘Quebec,’ and I’ll be shouting up into the sky, ‘QUEBEC!?  YOU COULDN’T DREAM UP A BETTER PLACE THAN QUEBEC!?”  Tehehehe.

I’ve decided to skip all classes tomorrow, just because I haven’t missed any this semester, and to, first of all, sleep in, and then do homework and possibly go to the doctor.  So if you’re reading this in Journalism, then yes, know that I premeditated this!  I knew before class that I was not going to be there!  MWAHAHAHAHAHAHAAAA!

…Um…don’t let our professor see this, please….

Author: GinnyJones

I was born on 3/5/97 in this horrible small town in southern Virginia. Now I live in Jacksonville, Florida and I am here to tell you about my life--my friends, my family, love, school, work, extra-curriculars--minus specifics, of course. What I Do: I'm in school full-time getting my AA. I used to work part-time as the secretary for a small property management business; now I work in a university cafeteria, which is a major improvement! It's harder work, but the people make up for it. Things I Like: Harrison Ford, Harry Potter, Doctor Who, Sherlock, Emmy Rossum, Shameless (US), Being Human (UK & US), The Walking Dead, Once Upon A Time, Superman, comic conventions, cosplay...I could go on. But I won't. Cast of Characters: - Mom and Dad: my parents - Sister/Psychobrat: my younger sister - Brother: my even younger brother - Cortney and Nicole: my best friends - Milo: the guy I love - Tinny: my work friend - Kristen: friend from school - Katie: friend from school - Jenna and Kara: sister friends - The Ex: Milo's evil ex

Leave a Reply

