Daily Nightmares and a Cheery Milo Tale

I stayed up late last night studying for my history test today, and then I went to the library after my first class and fell asleep in a chair.  I almost didn’t wake up in time—I woke up four minutes before the class started.  That would’ve been great, eh?  Sleep through the test I stayed up all night studying for.  Yeah.  But all in all, I think I did pretty well.  Okay, at least.  We’ll see.

At about 4:00 today, I had just gotten in my car to go to work, when Milo pulled up.  He waved from his car, and I from mine; then, once I’d gotten situated with seat belt, CD, and sunglasses and all, he was walking through the yard, and he turned around and looked at me.

He smiled.

It’s not an unusual thing for him to smile; no, of course not.  But there was something about this smile that was so warm and touching…and plus, he’d bothered to stop and turn around, when I might not even have been looking, much less still actually sitting there in the driveway.

I, of course, smiled back as brightly.

I know I get too excited and worked up over the smallest things, but…just…that smile….  Well, it just made it appear that he was actually thinking about me.  And it was so like the sort of smile that I would have given him, that for the briefest moment—only a split second’s amount of time—my heart leaped, and I thought, “Oh—he loves me!”

Of course, I instantly plummeted back to reality, as this idea made no sense whatsoever.  …He loves me not.

It was still a great smile.

I have a story about the dog today.  Always a pleasure.  I’m in the living room before work, standing right by the couch and flipping through stations with the remote, not even aware that the dog is in the room.

Suddenly, the dog bites my ankle.

I look down, and it’s sitting there all hunched over, teeth bared, the way it always gets when it’s protecting some sort of food item (which is nearly always something it’s not supposed to be eating, anyway).  Sure enough, it’s got something.  A Baby Ruth bar.  In its wrapper.

Putting aside the fact that chocolate kills dogs…it was in its wrapper!  What did it expect to do with the thing!?  Our dog has serious issues.

Speaking of animals with serious issues…I’ve got a Psychobrat story today.

She’s got this really-super-annoying alarm clock that’s really loud, and it goes off at…3?  I think it’s 3.  For no reason.  This morning, it woke Brother up.  After lying there for about an hour of it annoying him, and him not being able to go back to sleep, he finally got up at what he said was around 4, went into her room and asked her to turn it off, and found her lying on her bed watching TV.  She was completely ignoring the alarm clock.  Brother asked her to please turn it off, and she groaned, “Ohh…fine,” like it was a chore, and did.  She has no common regard for anyone at all.  I’d say I don’t understand people like her, but there are no people like her…she stands alone in her obtuseness.

So Brother decided to complain to my dad.

My dad acted like he saw no problem whatsoever and told Brother to “just ignore it”.  He couldn’t ask Psychobrat to just not let her alarm clock run for hours at a time at 3 in the morning and wake people up, even though she’s already wide awake and has only to reach over and push a button!?

Thus ends this segment of Daily Nightmares of the House of Jones.

Author: GinnyJones

I was born on 3/5/97 in this horrible small town in southern Virginia. Now I live in Jacksonville, Florida and I am here to tell you about my life--my friends, my family, love, school, work, extra-curriculars--minus specifics, of course. What I Do: I'm in school full-time getting my AA. I used to work part-time as the secretary for a small property management business; now I work in a university cafeteria, which is a major improvement! It's harder work, but the people make up for it. Things I Like: Harrison Ford, Harry Potter, Doctor Who, Sherlock, Emmy Rossum, Shameless (US), Being Human (UK & US), The Walking Dead, Once Upon A Time, Superman, comic conventions, cosplay...I could go on. But I won't. Cast of Characters: - Mom and Dad: my parents - Sister/Psychobrat: my younger sister - Brother: my even younger brother - Cortney and Nicole: my best friends - Milo: the guy I love - Tinny: my work friend - Kristen: friend from school - Katie: friend from school - Jenna and Kara: sister friends - The Ex: Milo's evil ex

Leave a Reply

