A Little in Love with Les Miserables

A Les Miserables quote to begin with….

p. 1144: “And then, do you know, Monsieur Marius, I believe I was a little in love with you.”

I stopped here and just wept.  Perhaps it was a bad idea for me to read this book…but it’s still really good.

On a different subject, there was some sort of jazz thing at UNF tonight, so we had all these groups of kids (middle- and high-schoolers) from out of town; we opened the café for them 15 minutes early.  And then they went crazy.  There were no lines; they came at us from all directions—we were completely surrounded!  This lasted for about an hour, and then it was rush o’clock, so we never really slowed down until about 7:20.  Bloody hell.

At one point, a couple of high school boys came through the line, laughing, poking each other, and saying, “Hi, Ginny, what’s up?” and, “Hey, Ginny, how are you doing tonight?”

They asked for the tater tots, and then one of them, apparently with the intention of looking all macho, said, “Y’know, I would be in college now, but I failed a year.”

“That’s a shame,” I replied.  What the hell did he expect me to say to that?  Was I supposed to be impressed?  Sorry, bud…it didn’t work.

Today in American History, I was falling asleep, until I heard my teacher say, “The Wizard of Oz,” and then I snapped back to attention immediately.  I don’t exactly know why; perhaps because I found it so coincidental that she mentioned it, when it had actually popped into my head for no reason at the beginning of class.

So we’re discussing how the whole series is a bunch of Populist propaganda, and she says, “…And you know how there was the Lollipop League, and the…something Guild….”

She looked around the room expectantly, waiting for somebody to give her the answer.  Nobody said anything, which shocked me, as this is a big class…and then she looked at me, and held my gaze for a moment, apparently sensing a gleam of understanding or something in my eyes, so I said, “Well, actually…it’s the Lollipop Guild and the Lullaby League.”

There was a silence as every eye in the room focused on me.  My teacher said, “Yes, that’s it, Ginny, thank you,” and a couple of people applauded, so I, of course, bowed graciously.  For the rest of that conversation, whenever there was a question about anything, everyone again turned to me for my confirmation.  I was very amused.

Nothing else really of interest took place today; I’ve gotten farther in the book, and am going to attempt to make the 200-pages-or-less mark before I go to bed, so I reckon I’ll just close tonight with one more quote.

p. 1230-1231:  “And, laying a pistol on the table, he added, ‘The last man to leave this room will blow out the spy’s brains!’  … At this point, Jean Valjean appeared.  He was among the insurgents.  He stepped forward, and said to Enjolras, ‘You are the commander?’

‘Yes.’

‘You thanked me just now.’

‘In the name of the Republic.  The barricade has two saviors, Marius Pontmercy and you.’

‘Do you think I deserve a reward?’

‘Certainly.’

‘Well, I have one to ask.’

‘What?’

‘To blow out that man’s brains myself.’”

I actually laughed out loud at this quote…hard.  You just…wouldn’t understand, without reading the book.  Or seeing the movie or the play or something.  I don’t often laugh out loud while I’m reading, but this is one of the funniest lines I ever recall reading in a novel.  I guess because I’ve been with it for so long now.

Author: GinnyJones

I was born on 3/5/97 in this horrible small town in southern Virginia. Now I live in Jacksonville, Florida and I am here to tell you about my life--my friends, my family, love, school, work, extra-curriculars--minus specifics, of course. What I Do: I'm in school full-time getting my AA. I used to work part-time as the secretary for a small property management business; now I work in a university cafeteria, which is a major improvement! It's harder work, but the people make up for it. Things I Like: Harrison Ford, Harry Potter, Doctor Who, Sherlock, Emmy Rossum, Shameless (US), Being Human (UK & US), The Walking Dead, Once Upon A Time, Superman, comic conventions, cosplay...I could go on. But I won't. Cast of Characters: - Mom and Dad: my parents - Sister/Psychobrat: my younger sister - Brother: my even younger brother - Cortney and Nicole: my best friends - Milo: the guy I love - Tinny: my work friend - Kristen: friend from school - Katie: friend from school - Jenna and Kara: sister friends - The Ex: Milo's evil ex

Leave a Reply

