In Memoriam

Tonight I was looking up Python stuff online, and I was reading about Graham Chapman’s memorial ceremony after his funeral.  Several of the Pythons had written things about it, and it just got me thinking…that is how I would want my memorial service to be.  I hope, when I die, my friends laugh and make jokes like the Pythons did for Graham.  I’m serious.  I hope they go to the funeral and have a jolly good time remembering stuff we’ve done.  Crying…blah.  Maybe later.  But if they’re gathered there for me, they need to be cheerful about it.  If I were to go to my own funeral in ghost form, I’d want to enjoy it!  I believe Graham would have.  I could just see a translucent form of him sitting there in the group, listening to them tell stories about him, good and bad, but all hilarious, and having a grand old time.  They’d all be drinking, and he’d just be sitting there with his own translucent glass and laughing.  “Oh, yes, I remember that, and what a good time we had, and damn you, John, why’d you have to go and bring that up!?”

So bear that in mind, friends:  If I go first, that’s how I want you to take it.  You bloody well know I’m going to haunt you, so make it enjoyable for all of us, and remember that I’m still there…just…translucent.

In other news, still reading Les Miserables.  I’ve passed the 1,000 page mark now, though!  Which means that I should be finishing it this week, as predicted.  That’s exciting.  It’ll be the longest book I’ve ever read.  That’s an accomplishment.

No quotes tonight, but on page 1012 and for a couple pages after, there is a damned good description of what it’s like to be the person in love with one half of a couple that she is not a part of.

Author: GinnyJones

I was born on 3/5/97 in this horrible small town in southern Virginia. Now I live in Jacksonville, Florida and I am here to tell you about my life--my friends, my family, love, school, work, extra-curriculars--minus specifics, of course. What I Do: I'm in school full-time getting my AA. I used to work part-time as the secretary for a small property management business; now I work in a university cafeteria, which is a major improvement! It's harder work, but the people make up for it. Things I Like: Harrison Ford, Harry Potter, Doctor Who, Sherlock, Emmy Rossum, Shameless (US), Being Human (UK & US), The Walking Dead, Once Upon A Time, Superman, comic conventions, cosplay...I could go on. But I won't. Cast of Characters: - Mom and Dad: my parents - Sister/Psychobrat: my younger sister - Brother: my even younger brother - Cortney and Nicole: my best friends - Milo: the guy I love - Tinny: my work friend - Kristen: friend from school - Katie: friend from school - Jenna and Kara: sister friends - The Ex: Milo's evil ex

Leave a Reply

