The Cyclops Dream

My dream last night was pretty creepy.  I was informed by some official-seeming source that I needed to appear at a particular building in another city at a certain time on a certain day.  They had a mission for me, and apparently I was the only one in the world that they knew of (for some reason?) who could help.

So I went, because the whole thing sounded so Men in Black-ish (and because this was a dream), and appeared inside this building which I had believed to be nearly empty, but which, in actuality, held a whole bunch of newscasters, who were the ones to tell me what exactly I had to do.

They told me that some mad scientist (maybe not mad, but he had gotten in a bit over his head and had put the world in danger) had created this…thing.  A huge monster, which I wish I could show you, but I can only describe in words.  I think this building had like 40 stories…and then there was a ledge on the outside, a really wide ledge, like the width of another huge room on the side, but it was a ledge nonetheless…and the monster rose up to this ledge when standing.  It was green, with one huge, bright yellow eye taking up most of its head.  It could shoot lasers or lightning or something out of its eye, completely disintegrating, inside a fireball which would then evaporate, whatever it aimed for.  However, its eye always turned to a reddish pink before this occurred, so you’d know it was aiming, and could possibly dodge it.  Maybe.

Somehow, they informed me, I had to take out the monster.  And I can’t remember now what it was about me…it couldn’t aim when I was there, or…I was immune to it—no, that’s not it, because I remember still being afraid of it (maybe because it also ate people?)—I don’t know, but there was something about me that affected or was affected by the monster differently than anyone else.

So they all waited inside, and sent me out on this ledge to face the monster, armed with something that shot similar beams as the monster’s, because we all thought perhaps that could destroy it.  There were other people out there, sheltered behind little alcoves (like I said, it was basically a whole room, except with no wall on that end, just a drop), and looking through those things you put quarters in to see at a distance.

While standing there looking up at the thing, I noticed somebody next to me, looking through another of these and frantically writing things on a clipboard.  He was dressed in a white lab coat, like he was a doctor or something, so I approached him and asked what he was doing.

It was M. Night Shyamalan, in a cameo appearance, just as though this were one of his films.

He ended up being the scientist who had created this thing, and he seemed completely regretful, but like he couldn’t help creating it for some reason…and he was saying how he was in charge of figuring out how to destroy it (while I was the one who actually had to do it)…and then a little while later, a bit farther down this ledge, another monster popped up…and I looked at him in complete shock, and he said, “I couldn’t help it, I couldn’t help it!  I had to make a female, too!”

That’s really all I remember, excepting running forward, a whole lot closer to the things, and their eyes turning pink and shooting at me, and me running to the sides and just dodging the fire…and then I woke up.  Strange, strange dream.

Author: GinnyJones

I was born on 3/5/97 in this horrible small town in southern Virginia. Now I live in Jacksonville, Florida and I am here to tell you about my life--my friends, my family, love, school, work, extra-curriculars--minus specifics, of course. What I Do: I'm in school full-time getting my AA. I used to work part-time as the secretary for a small property management business; now I work in a university cafeteria, which is a major improvement! It's harder work, but the people make up for it. Things I Like: Harrison Ford, Harry Potter, Doctor Who, Sherlock, Emmy Rossum, Shameless (US), Being Human (UK & US), The Walking Dead, Once Upon A Time, Superman, comic conventions, cosplay...I could go on. But I won't. Cast of Characters: - Mom and Dad: my parents - Sister/Psychobrat: my younger sister - Brother: my even younger brother - Cortney and Nicole: my best friends - Milo: the guy I love - Tinny: my work friend - Kristen: friend from school - Katie: friend from school - Jenna and Kara: sister friends - The Ex: Milo's evil ex

Leave a Reply

