Greg’s Message

My family still uses a house phone.  I realize this is a bit weird, but my dad is kind of anti-technology and refuses to get a cell phone, so this is how he keeps in touch with us.  It comes in handy, though, because when I’m not sure if I want someone to have my personal number or not, I just give them the house number.  (Milo obviously does the same thing; he got this from me.)

So Milo’s checking the answering machine today, and there are like 6 messages of just nothingness from that girl who kept calling last night.  He kept hitting delete, delete, delete…and then he came to Greg’s message, which I was unaware was still on the machine.  I hear, “Hey Ginny, this is Greg,” and, fortunately, I had a blanket handy that I could throw over my head, and I did so.  Greg continued talking, saying he thought we were going to go out that night, and I peeked out from under the blanket to see the sly grin on Milo’s face, and he said, “Who’s Greg?” and I said, “No one, just some guy…” and Greg kept talking, and I said, “You can delete it; I’ve already heard it!” and Milo continued to grin wickedly and then Greg said the thing about how he didn’t know if my “roommates” had let me know he’d called, and then it was over.

Milo said (still grinning like this was the funniest thing that had happened all day), “Your roommates!?  Apparently, this guy is under the impression you have ‘roommates’.  Did you tell him you have an apartment?”

“No, he just doesn’t know me!” I said, trying not to laugh, but mortified at the same time.  Milo was laughing.  “And who is this guy!?” he said.  “It’s no one,” I said.  “I don’t even know him.”

And that was that.  But it was so funny, it required a mention.

Author: GinnyJones

I was born on 3/5/97 in this horrible small town in southern Virginia. Now I live in Jacksonville, Florida and I am here to tell you about my life--my friends, my family, love, school, work, extra-curriculars--minus specifics, of course. What I Do: I'm in school full-time getting my AA. I used to work part-time as the secretary for a small property management business; now I work in a university cafeteria, which is a major improvement! It's harder work, but the people make up for it. Things I Like: Harrison Ford, Harry Potter, Doctor Who, Sherlock, Emmy Rossum, Shameless (US), Being Human (UK & US), The Walking Dead, Once Upon A Time, Superman, comic conventions, cosplay...I could go on. But I won't. Cast of Characters: - Mom and Dad: my parents - Sister/Psychobrat: my younger sister - Brother: my even younger brother - Cortney and Nicole: my best friends - Milo: the guy I love - Tinny: my work friend - Kristen: friend from school - Katie: friend from school - Jenna and Kara: sister friends - The Ex: Milo's evil ex

Leave a Reply

