Ancestral

I had a really strange dream the other night.  I was lost and for some reason walking down this 3- or 4-lane highway, and I could see an urban-type area in the distance, but the directions I was trying to follow took me off the road on the right on this exit, and it was growing steadily darker, and shrouded by trees, and I’m still walking, and it curves to the left, and it’s really getting dark outside…and the whole atmosphere has this serious dreamlike feel to it, like the sort of setting I’ve been in in so many dreams in the past….

I keep walking down this road, and it’s completely dark outside now, and all of a sudden I’m passing a little house, with a garden on the side and a little field where corn was growing, and these two little girls with long dresses and aprons are running around chasing each other and screaming gleefully….  Somehow in my dream, I knew that I had just gone back in time.  I’m in some, like, Victorian age, and I’m not sure who this family was—I can not remember their names—but they were some of my ancestors.

For some strange reason, I yell at the girls, who haven’t noticed me because, apart from its being very dark, I was also not making a sound.  I yell, “HEY!!!!” in this really scary voice.  They stop all of a sudden and run into their house, and a porch light comes on, and a man comes and stands outside and says, “Who’s out there!?”  I can’t see him because I’ve moved behind some bushes and am following the road until I come to another house within seeing and perhaps hearing distance of the last house.  When I arrive at that one, some dogs start barking, and a man comes outside with a shotgun and also says, “Who’s out there!?”  Then a woman comes up behind him and says, “It’s only a girl,” so they invite me in, ask what I was doing outside, and I say I don’t really know; I’ve just been walking for a long time.

Their children were already asleep; but then somehow I discover that this is my mom’s mom’s family, but I’m not sure how far back.  And they lived next door to some of my other ancestors, and I’m not even sure which ones.  So here I’ve gone back in time and discovered two families that I am descended of, and I know that one of the kids from the one family is going to eventually marry one of the kids from the other.

I stay for a while, a couple days, and then I walk back one night, and as I leave the dark tree area, I’m back in the present, where it is really dark outside, walking down this highway to my car, and I still have that weird dream feeling that I had the whole time I was in the tree-covered, Victorian place…I guess because I get that feeling in my dreams when I’m in a location I don’t recognize, and I sort of know I’m dreaming and I know I can’t count on everything being okay until I’m back with people or things that I do recognize….  I woke up before I found my car, but I assume it was going to be okay, since I at least knew the way back from where I was.

Author: GinnyJones

I was born on 3/5/97 in this horrible small town in southern Virginia. Now I live in Jacksonville, Florida and I am here to tell you about my life--my friends, my family, love, school, work, extra-curriculars--minus specifics, of course. What I Do: I'm in school full-time getting my AA. I used to work part-time as the secretary for a small property management business; now I work in a university cafeteria, which is a major improvement! It's harder work, but the people make up for it. Things I Like: Harrison Ford, Harry Potter, Doctor Who, Sherlock, Emmy Rossum, Shameless (US), Being Human (UK & US), The Walking Dead, Once Upon A Time, Superman, comic conventions, cosplay...I could go on. But I won't. Cast of Characters: - Mom and Dad: my parents - Sister/Psychobrat: my younger sister - Brother: my even younger brother - Cortney and Nicole: my best friends - Milo: the guy I love - Tinny: my work friend - Kristen: friend from school - Katie: friend from school - Jenna and Kara: sister friends - The Ex: Milo's evil ex

Leave a Reply

