Love and Work and Happiness

I have had an excellent day.  It all started with my waking up at a perfectly excellent time–10:30–and coming out of my room and being met with the beautiful sight of Milo walking out of the shower wearing jeans…and nothing else.  I knew from that moment the rest of the day would be peachy.

I am fairly certain I got a 100% on my take-home Arithmancy exam, and that Occlumency exam I was studying for last night and thought I’d do surprisingly poorly on (surprisingly because it’s my favorite subject)…I think I aced it.  Then tonight, when my mom was helping me study Muggle Studies for my exam tomorrow, I learned more in one evening of going through a study guide twice than in a lifetime of being taught this stuff.  I finally understand what “checks and balances” means–it has nothing to do with money!  It means sharing power so no one side has all of it.  (“Ohh!!” I said, “Check like in chess, and balanced like in divided!!!!”)

Studying is really helping me these days.  Probably would have helped in high school, too, if I’d ever done it.  But now I actually care about my grades, and I’m finding the studying easier than before.  I’ve also realized something about myself and how I learn (although I figured this out at some point in Ms. Richter’s algebra class in 11th grade)…I always have to know why something is what it is.  I know other people say that, but for me, if I don’t understand why something works, I can’t learn it.  That’s why I have so much trouble in math.  It’s hard for me to see why certain concepts work.  That’s how I figured this out in algebra class–I finally noticed that the things I did understand were the ones I understood the reasoning behind.  On the other hand, English–grammar, spelling, and the like–are so easy for me because it’s easy to relate all of that stuff to other things.  Grammar is so natural to me because I can relate it to speech.  Like, “That works that way because that’s how it sounds when you say it.”  I don’t know…that’s hard to explain, I guess, but it makes sense to me.  It’s hard for me to memorize a bunch of numbers, because what do numbers relate to?  (I’m trying to memorize a bunch of them for my Muggle Studies exam tomorrow.  Amendments. Yikes.)

I’m reading The Westing Game again.  The last time I read it was when I borrowed it from my teacher in 4th grade.  I don’t remember anything about it except that Sam Westing has something to do with “Uncle Sam”…and a bunch of names with directions in them.  (North, south, east, and west.)  But I do remember that I liked it.  It’s sort of like Clue.

Work was nice; there was enough of the food that I wanted to eat left over when it was time for me to eat, so I got my fill–and there was blueberry pie for the first time in forever!  It wasn’t one of those days where I’m overheated at work (I mean extra overheated), and I wasn’t nearly as tired as I was yesterday.

The other night I was thinking how I’m really happy with my life right now, and I was trying to pinpoint why, and I think I did a pretty good job of it:  I have terrific family and friends who love me, and I have a consistent, enjoyable schedule right now, and I always like having a schedule.  The responsibility is doing something for me.  So the next day in my Occlumency class, Dr. Wall was explaining that Freud believed people need two things to make them happy:  love and work.  I was in awe that I had discovered this same thing the night before.  All I need to make my life perfect would be for a certain other someone to love me too….

Well, that’s about everything, I think…there was probably something more, but I can’t remember what it was…but anyway, the “certain other someone” is home now and in the room, so it’s getting difficult to write here.

Author: GinnyJones

I was born on 3/5/97 in this horrible small town in southern Virginia. Now I live in Jacksonville, Florida and I am here to tell you about my life--my friends, my family, love, school, work, extra-curriculars--minus specifics, of course. What I Do: I'm in school full-time getting my AA. I used to work part-time as the secretary for a small property management business; now I work in a university cafeteria, which is a major improvement! It's harder work, but the people make up for it. Things I Like: Harrison Ford, Harry Potter, Doctor Who, Sherlock, Emmy Rossum, Shameless (US), Being Human (UK & US), The Walking Dead, Once Upon A Time, Superman, comic conventions, cosplay...I could go on. But I won't. Cast of Characters: - Mom and Dad: my parents - Sister/Psychobrat: my younger sister - Brother: my even younger brother - Cortney and Nicole: my best friends - Milo: the guy I love - Tinny: my work friend - Kristen: friend from school - Katie: friend from school - Jenna and Kara: sister friends - The Ex: Milo's evil ex

Leave a Reply

