Speaking English

I thought I would have to talk my speech teacher into my doing Quidditch as my topic…but she thought it was an excellent idea!  Plus, the first speech is only 5-7 minutes, not 10 as I had thought.  Even better.  I don’t know about that class yet…I think it’s the easiest one I have, but I have to stop answering questions!  Every once in a while I’ll be in one class (usually English) that is really easy to me and doesn’t seem so to anyone else, and I’ll keep answering questions out loud…but I’ll usually refrain from answering too many, so as not to look like a know-it-all.  Today, however, I was answering questions right and left, while my inner monologue kept saying, ‘What the hell are you doing!?  Everyone’s going to hate you!  Chill out!  I’m not a know-it-all.  No.  I refuse to be put into a category like that.  I just can’t bear to sit there in awkward silence, knowing the answer, while the teacher is waiting to hear it from someone, and no one else is speaking up….

I don’t understand those people who think that their lives are boring and nothing has ever happened to them.  I still stand by what I’ve always said–you could make a movie out of anyone’s life.  Each one is different–how can any particular one be boring?  And sometimes they’ll even tell you really fascinating stories about themselves, usually as some sort of classroom assignment, and still they will say, “But my life is so boring….”  I have no friends like that.  It’s an immediate turn-off to people, isn’t it?

What else was I going to say?  I had a number of things I wanted to rant about before I signed on, but now I can’t remember what any of them were.

Ah, well.

Author: GinnyJones

I was born on 3/5/97 in this horrible small town in southern Virginia. Now I live in Jacksonville, Florida and I am here to tell you about my life--my friends, my family, love, school, work, extra-curriculars--minus specifics, of course. What I Do: I'm in school full-time getting my AA. I used to work part-time as the secretary for a small property management business; now I work in a university cafeteria, which is a major improvement! It's harder work, but the people make up for it. Things I Like: Harrison Ford, Harry Potter, Doctor Who, Sherlock, Emmy Rossum, Shameless (US), Being Human (UK & US), The Walking Dead, Once Upon A Time, Superman, comic conventions, cosplay...I could go on. But I won't. Cast of Characters: - Mom and Dad: my parents - Sister/Psychobrat: my younger sister - Brother: my even younger brother - Cortney and Nicole: my best friends - Milo: the guy I love - Tinny: my work friend - Kristen: friend from school - Katie: friend from school - Jenna and Kara: sister friends - The Ex: Milo's evil ex

Leave a Reply

