A Genius Named Drew

Today I remembered a very comical story that I am very ashamed to have forgotten; I’d have to say it’s one of the most amusing things to happen to me…ever.

A few years ago, when my friends and I owned the backseats of the school bus, this new kid arrived…and when I say “kid”, I mean like, 11, 12 years old.  He was this adorable little thing with glasses named Drew, and Drew was a genius.  This is why he rode our bus.  While he was in high school, he didn’t attend ours–he took a shuttle from ours to the prep school each day.  I think he was a sophomore or junior…?  Anyway, we all thought he was just the cutest thing, and always fought over who was going to get to sit next to him, and who was going to be the first to break down and ask him out and whatnot.  (Because, even though he was so young, his IQ was still up there, ya know?  And we were only 15.)  And Drew, in turn, flirted with each and every one of us…I remember when he gave us all cards on Valentine’s Day.  He used to help us with our homework because he was just so much better stuff than we were.  I remember getting improved grades on my math homework after he put his mind to it.

One day, Drew did not appear on the bus.  And he never came back.  We all missed him terribly after that, and then forgot almost entirely about him, until sometime the next year…my sister informed me that Drew was on her soccer team, and upon finding out her last name, asked her if she knew me.  Apparently she already knew him from school, because he used to go to hers.  Drew was not a genius at all–the reason he no longer went to her school was because he had been kicked out, and was now taking a shuttle bus from ours to some school for troubled children.  We were all duped by the little weasel.

How pathetic is that!?

Kid’s like my hero now.

Author: GinnyJones

I was born on 3/5/97 in this horrible small town in southern Virginia. Now I live in Jacksonville, Florida and I am here to tell you about my life--my friends, my family, love, school, work, extra-curriculars--minus specifics, of course. What I Do: I'm in school full-time getting my AA. I used to work part-time as the secretary for a small property management business; now I work in a university cafeteria, which is a major improvement! It's harder work, but the people make up for it. Things I Like: Harrison Ford, Harry Potter, Doctor Who, Sherlock, Emmy Rossum, Shameless (US), Being Human (UK & US), The Walking Dead, Once Upon A Time, Superman, comic conventions, cosplay...I could go on. But I won't. Cast of Characters: - Mom and Dad: my parents - Sister/Psychobrat: my younger sister - Brother: my even younger brother - Cortney and Nicole: my best friends - Milo: the guy I love - Tinny: my work friend - Kristen: friend from school - Katie: friend from school - Jenna and Kara: sister friends - The Ex: Milo's evil ex

Leave a Reply

