Review: Broken Hearts On Canvas

My next experience into fan-fiction felt like a dream.  A wisp of a thing, it took me only about 20 minutes to read in its entirety.

Broken Hearts On Canvas, written by ImmortalObsession, is set in an alternate universe where all the characters seem to exist simultaneously in a world without magic.  Everyone played a different role in this 1940s-era muggle London.  A young Hermione has found herself growing up in an orphanage full of dullards and one interesting but troubled boy the other children are frightened of who becomes her only friend, making this story a “Tomione” (Hermione and Tom Riddle, Jr.).

The whole story has the feel of one of those one-off episodes of a television show where it’s randomly set in the past and everyone in the past looks exactly like one of the present-day characters.  Or a character has a dream about the past and everyone they know is cast as a random character in the dream.  I half-expected Hermione to wake up at the end and say, “You were there, and you were there, and you!”

I really enjoyed the concept.  It was dark, depressing, and compelling, and I found it to be very original.  Harry Potter didn’t seem to exist at all in this world.

This was written in present-tense, which was pretty unique.  My only real gripe about it is the omniscient narrator who rapidly changed points of view a few too many times.  That did distract me once or twice.

Overall, though, I may look into more of ImmortalObsession’s work when I get through my current list.

Author: GinnyJones

I was born on 3/5/97 in this horrible small town in southern Virginia. Now I live in Jacksonville, Florida and I am here to tell you about my life--my friends, my family, love, school, work, extra-curriculars--minus specifics, of course. What I Do: I'm in school full-time getting my AA. I used to work part-time as the secretary for a small property management business; now I work in a university cafeteria, which is a major improvement! It's harder work, but the people make up for it. Things I Like: Harrison Ford, Harry Potter, Doctor Who, Sherlock, Emmy Rossum, Shameless (US), Being Human (UK & US), The Walking Dead, Once Upon A Time, Superman, comic conventions, cosplay...I could go on. But I won't. Cast of Characters: - Mom and Dad: my parents - Sister/Psychobrat: my younger sister - Brother: my even younger brother - Cortney and Nicole: my best friends - Milo: the guy I love - Tinny: my work friend - Kristen: friend from school - Katie: friend from school - Jenna and Kara: sister friends - The Ex: Milo's evil ex

Leave a Reply

