Review: Arresto Momentum

This is the first fan-fic I’ve read since the first James Potter book.  A friend with a sense of the kinds of things I might be looking to read helped me compile a list of things to check out, and I randomly selected this one.  Arresto Momentum  was written by user Captainraychill for FanFiction.net.

I nearly didn’t continue after reading the title–for some reason “Arresto” is misspelled in the title, which seemed to me to be a glaring error suggesting the author was not as well-versed in Harry Potter as I would have hoped.  Since I intend to be picky with the fan-fiction I choose to read, this almost put me off completely.  I’m not sure if there’s a reason for the misspelling or why it hasn’t been corrected yet, but I decided to give it a shot, anyway.  I’m glad I did.

Captainraychill has a flawless grasp of the English language, which is a requirement for me to continue with any fic.  After reading a couple of paragraphs, or maybe just a few lines, I was content to move forward.

This fic was my first introduction to the “Dramione” pairing.  (I knew that it existed, of course, but I had never ventured into those waters.)  As such, it had to undo a canon pairing.  I wasn’t sure how I felt about this at first, because there was no real explanation given for why this pairing no longer existed, or whether it ever had.  I didn’t have time to worry about any possible plot holes, however, as the story moved swiftly and neatly forward and I realized this was intended to be an alternate universe in which the canon pairing did not exist.

The story itself was well-told and sentimental.  Reluctant to put it down, I read through it all in one sitting.  I enjoyed the concept of Draco’s “Mind Palace” of sorts (and wonder if Captainraychill is a Sherlock fan).  For the most part, I think the writer had a good grasp of the characters.  They felt like themselves to me; I could picture them saying most of their lines.

I was nervous about getting to the sexier parts of the story.  I am obviously aware that fan-fiction exists in large part to fulfill such fantasies, and I admittedly hold this stereotype that much of it is written by inexperienced pre-teens.  I needn’t have worried.  Captainraychill is not an inexperienced pre-teen and the scenes flowed perfectly.  They were believable and did not feel tacked on, but were woven seamlessly into the narrative.  And I have to say, I emerged from Arresto Momentum a Dramione shipper, so kudos to her for making me feel something a bit forbidden that I didn’t know I could feel.

This gets my stamp of approval.

 

Author: GinnyJones

I was born on 3/5/97 in this horrible small town in southern Virginia. Now I live in Jacksonville, Florida and I am here to tell you about my life--my friends, my family, love, school, work, extra-curriculars--minus specifics, of course. What I Do: I'm in school full-time getting my AA. I used to work part-time as the secretary for a small property management business; now I work in a university cafeteria, which is a major improvement! It's harder work, but the people make up for it. Things I Like: Harrison Ford, Harry Potter, Doctor Who, Sherlock, Emmy Rossum, Shameless (US), Being Human (UK & US), The Walking Dead, Once Upon A Time, Superman, comic conventions, cosplay...I could go on. But I won't. Cast of Characters: - Mom and Dad: my parents - Sister/Psychobrat: my younger sister - Brother: my even younger brother - Cortney and Nicole: my best friends - Milo: the guy I love - Tinny: my work friend - Kristen: friend from school - Katie: friend from school - Jenna and Kara: sister friends - The Ex: Milo's evil ex

Leave a Reply

