Double, Double, Toil, & Trouble

When I was five years old, I saw a ghost at church.

I don’t think I actually believe in ghosts now, though I was afraid of them at the time.  Despite this, that image of it is permanently etched into my mind–those red eyes staring at me out of a paper-thin, ink-black body with rounded extremities like those of a gingerbread man.  I know it was only my imagination playing tricks on me, but there it is still.

Lately I have been experiencing recurring nightmares about that church.  They’re always very disturbing, the creepiest dreams ever.  With each dream I get just a little bit further in…like Harry’s dreams about the Department of Mysteries in Order of the Phoenix.

I had one last night.  It started out like it always does, where I walk in and can feel the silence, and death, and the presence of some very evil being…but this time, I turned around and walked out of the building.  I walked down the street in the direction of my house, and I went inside, but it didn’t look like my house on the inside.  It was just a bunch of empty rooms, and there was a small group of people inside.  The details are fuzzy…I think I remember about 5 or 6 people…it seemed to be a sort of…not support group…I’m not sure…but it was like they all knew the church was haunted or something.  I think I was part of this group of what were probably something along the lines of Ghostbusters.  Except there was nothing comedic about it—everyone was dead serious, no pun intended, about what we were doing.  They were telling me that they had discovered the name for the “creature”, or whatever, that was inside the building.  I can’t remember exactly—something like, “Nilenuck” or “Neletuck”, or maybe something else completely, but it looked and sounded very similar to that.  Someone had this big old book that looked like something out of a cheesy B-rated horror film, which is where we got this name, and I remember looking at it in the book.

The group was sending me and one other person back into the church to the library, to find out more information about the ghost-thingy, or just to see if there was any more information on it.  So this other person and I walked down the street and in the same door I always walk in at the start of the dream, and Mass was going on, and everyone turned around to look at us, and the priest glanced at us before walking down the aisle to the front, and we headed up two flights of stairs to the library (I don’t even remember if there were two flights of stairs from that location), and we were in there for what seemed like forever, and could faintly hear Mass continuing downstairs for a while, and then it ended….  The priest came in after a time to see what we were up to, and was getting very angry, wanting to send us out, when the other person finally found this book about ghosts and said, “AHA!” and we were looking in it, but there was only one name listed in it (I don’t know how we turned right to that part so quickly, or knew there was nowhere else in the book that a name would be mentioned, but anyway)…it was something like “Brier” or “Grier”—only 5 or 6 letters, and there was definitely an “ie” in the middle that was pronounced like “ee”…but the odd thing about it was that I expected to only find this name anywhere in the library, and none others.  When I saw it, I was completely unsurprised.  I don’t know, people think and feel strange things in dreams.  But then we closed the book and left, went back to my house, told the group what we’d found, and that’s when I woke up.  I think we were getting ready to take some other course of action, but I never found out what it was.

In other news…my parents want me to get counseling.  I told them I don’t want to go.  I don’t know, I could probably use it, but I just don’t want to go.

I haven’t had to go on the floor since the other night, so work’s been enjoyable.  Oh, and I really like my psychology class—not that I didn’t expect to, but it’s really interesting.  Because I am a dork, I gave all of my classes Harry Potter names—Liberal Arts Math, obviously, is Arithmancy…Psychology is Occlumency…American Federal Government is Muggle Studies…and Introduction to Speech is Defense Against the Dark Arts.  I amuse myself.

Author: GinnyJones

I was born on 3/5/97 in this horrible small town in southern Virginia. Now I live in Jacksonville, Florida and I am here to tell you about my life--my friends, my family, love, school, work, extra-curriculars--minus specifics, of course. What I Do: I'm in school full-time getting my AA. I used to work part-time as the secretary for a small property management business; now I work in a university cafeteria, which is a major improvement! It's harder work, but the people make up for it. Things I Like: Harrison Ford, Harry Potter, Doctor Who, Sherlock, Emmy Rossum, Shameless (US), Being Human (UK & US), The Walking Dead, Once Upon A Time, Superman, comic conventions, cosplay...I could go on. But I won't. Cast of Characters: - Mom and Dad: my parents - Sister/Psychobrat: my younger sister - Brother: my even younger brother - Cortney and Nicole: my best friends - Milo: the guy I love - Tinny: my work friend - Kristen: friend from school - Katie: friend from school - Jenna and Kara: sister friends - The Ex: Milo's evil ex

2 thoughts on “Double, Double, Toil, & Trouble”

Leave a Reply

