Inside Milo’s Subconscious

Milo was telling me today about the dream he had last night, which actually involved me.  This is new.  He never dreams about me–or if he does, I don’t have a prominent position in the dream…anyway, last night he dreamed that he and I and our high school choir teacher (where the heck did she come from??–he didn’t know) were stuck in my house with this baby.  Ms. G., for reasons unbeknownst to any of us, happened to be a Satanist (and a cannibal) who was going to sacrifice one of the three of us, and we had to choose who it was going to be.

[At this point, I said, “Pssh–the baby!!”  Milo said, “Yeah, we both tried to convince her to take the baby, because it was really young and had a lot less to live for and basically…hadn’t lived yet.”  “It was still pure and innocent,” I said.  “Right, exactly,” Milo said.]

Milo went on to explain that Ms. G. decided that she was going to choose, and that she chose him, and so the baby and I took off, along with Milo’s sister, who sort of came out of nowhere, and he couldn’t get out of the house, and was there trying to bargain with Ms. G., and “…you all were just running…and you left me…all alone….”

Okay, so maybe it was unwise of me, and I realized this even before I said it, but there was no way I was going to leave that statement hanging.  I said, “Aww…I would never leave you!”  Of course, there was the expected awkward silence as he nodded his understanding at this, so I broke it by saying, “…Maybe the baby…” and we both laughed, and then I changed the subject.

Then a bit later, we were discussing other dreams we had had in the past that we could remember–namely, the sort of dreams wherein you dream about someone who doesn’t actually exist.  We were wondering if perhaps these people that we just make up out of nowhere in our dreams are actually real people who, elsewhere on the planet, are having the same dreams about us and assuming we are not real.  “Last night I dreamed about this dorky guy with brown hair and glasses….”  Haha.  It’s an interesting thought.

Usually I help him analyze his dreams, which is why we talk about them so frequently, but I wasn’t going to touch this one, for obvious reasons.  Analyzing dreams involves looking at symbolism–breaking it down and recognizing what each component means to you and how you feel about it–of course I couldn’t ask him, “So how do you see me?  How do I make you feel?”

I guess that’s really all that’s new today.  Good night, everyone, and many pleasantries.

Author: GinnyJones

I was born on 3/5/97 in this horrible small town in southern Virginia. Now I live in Jacksonville, Florida and I am here to tell you about my life--my friends, my family, love, school, work, extra-curriculars--minus specifics, of course. What I Do: I'm in school full-time getting my AA. I used to work part-time as the secretary for a small property management business; now I work in a university cafeteria, which is a major improvement! It's harder work, but the people make up for it. Things I Like: Harrison Ford, Harry Potter, Doctor Who, Sherlock, Emmy Rossum, Shameless (US), Being Human (UK & US), The Walking Dead, Once Upon A Time, Superman, comic conventions, cosplay...I could go on. But I won't. Cast of Characters: - Mom and Dad: my parents - Sister/Psychobrat: my younger sister - Brother: my even younger brother - Cortney and Nicole: my best friends - Milo: the guy I love - Tinny: my work friend - Kristen: friend from school - Katie: friend from school - Jenna and Kara: sister friends - The Ex: Milo's evil ex

Leave a Reply

