Adulting

Well, I’m pretty sure Napoleon is going to fire me soon.  Very soon.  Yesterday (Saturday) was actually surprisingly busy at work–I think my last phone call was at 4:57.  Anyway, Napoleon called a few minutes after 4, I think to make sure I was still there and didn’t leave early or something because nothing was happening.  And then he came in without announcing himself, at about 4:45.  No reason, either, really, he just showed up, sent a fax, and went to talk to Cecilia.  At 4:45 when I was just staring at the computer screen, I had finally decided, “Well, I’ve been busy all day, nothing’s going to happen in the next 15 minutes–I’m going to read.”  So Napoleon walks in while I’m reading a book.  Wonderful.  And then he goes back and starts asking Cecilia if I do anything except answer the phones (even though he has already been told several times that I do a lot more than answer phones), and Cecilia said, “Oh, Ginny, of course,” and ran through a whole list of stuff, some of which I don’t think I do, but thanks anyway, Cecilia, and Napoleon said, “If she does all that, then why is she sitting out there reading a book?”  It’s only a matter of time.  I need to be on the lookout for a new job.

I used to babysit the kids next door.  I made $15/hour per kid, so $30/hour.  The neighbor goes out and parties a lot, so I was often getting in 20 hours a week at $30/hour–and I could do my homework at the same time.  I had $2,000 cash saved up in my dresser by the time I graduated high school.

But then high school was over, and my parents told me it was time to leave the nursery and join the adult world–no more babysitting for me.  In its place I was given a pointless minimum-wage job at Mom’s office (though she’s moved to a different location now) with a lot of down time, where I’m treated like a baby because Mom tells everyone cutesy stories about me when I was a kid.  My $2,000 has gone to textbooks and car payments.

My next-door neighbor could have paid my way through college and given me a head start in life.  But I have to be an adult instead.  C’est la vie.

It’s going to be a long day.  I didn’t even bring my book today, because I’m pretty sure Napoleon’s going to come in at some point to check up on me.  I really hate this stress!!  AAAGGHHHH!!!!  So I am just going to sit here…and look pretty.  Oh, lovely.  I hate work.  No–I hate stress.  I need work.  Unfortunately.  What I hate is the adult world.  Oh, god, why can’t I go back to Neverland?

Author: GinnyJones

I was born on 3/5/97 in this horrible small town in southern Virginia. Now I live in Jacksonville, Florida and I am here to tell you about my life--my friends, my family, love, school, work, extra-curriculars--minus specifics, of course. What I Do: I'm in school full-time getting my AA. I used to work part-time as the secretary for a small property management business; now I work in a university cafeteria, which is a major improvement! It's harder work, but the people make up for it. Things I Like: Harrison Ford, Harry Potter, Doctor Who, Sherlock, Emmy Rossum, Shameless (US), Being Human (UK & US), The Walking Dead, Once Upon A Time, Superman, comic conventions, cosplay...I could go on. But I won't. Cast of Characters: - Mom and Dad: my parents - Sister/Psychobrat: my younger sister - Brother: my even younger brother - Cortney and Nicole: my best friends - Milo: the guy I love - Tinny: my work friend - Kristen: friend from school - Katie: friend from school - Jenna and Kara: sister friends - The Ex: Milo's evil ex

Leave a Reply

