The Jax Diaries

Milo and I went to World of Nations yesterday.  I had never even heard of this celebration until our meeting on Friday. It’s held only in Jacksonville and is apparently a lot like going to EPCOT (which I haven’t been to since I was a toddler).  There were tents from many different countries where you could buy food and trinkets and art pieces.  We had piña coladas (which I had never had before–super tasty!) and then shared lots of yummy food we didn’t know the name of from Cuba.  I bought some knit flower earrings made by handicapped children in Syria.

The event was held at Metropolitan Park, which Milo and I had never been to before, and it must have one of the only hills in Jacksonville!  I wish I had known about this sooner.  I really do miss hills.  Anything to break up the boring Florida landscape.  The view of the St. Johns River was very nice, too.  I really wanted to kiss him while we were standing there looking out at the clouds, away from all the people.  I maintained my self-control, though.

I’m just going to throw this out there.  Jacksonville is usually pretty boring.  I know it’s where Twilight is set and all (*rolls eyes*) because the author is from here, but it looks nothing like it does in those movies (which, to be fair, I only watched like half an hour of before deciding I didn’t want to waste any more of my life on them).  I only forced myself through the first book because Jenna said it was unfair of me to criticize it until I had read it.

Anyway.  Mom and I went to see The Wiz at the Alhambra on Friday night.  We shared a table with this photographer and his wife, and they asked me if I had ever considered doing any modeling.  Certainly no one had never asked me that before!  It sounds super fun but I told them I know exactly nothing about how to tame my Princess Diaries-esque mane or makeup or anything like that.  See photo for evidence of what happens when I just step out of the shower, blow-dry, and comb:

20151122_103819

^^^That mop has been the bane of my existence my whole life.  It was one of the uncontrollable reasons why almost no one would speak to me for my whole childhood until we left Virginia.

They said that that wouldn’t matter and she could help me with those things during the shoot.  Well, I’m not sure what they see in me, but if they can make me actually look pretty then I’m all for it!  It sounds like it would be a lot of fun.  I gave them my number and they said they would call sometime this week about setting everything up!

Author: GinnyJones

I was born on 3/5/97 in this horrible small town in southern Virginia. Now I live in Jacksonville, Florida and I am here to tell you about my life--my friends, my family, love, school, work, extra-curriculars--minus specifics, of course. What I Do: I'm in school full-time getting my AA. I used to work part-time as the secretary for a small property management business; now I work in a university cafeteria, which is a major improvement! It's harder work, but the people make up for it. Things I Like: Harrison Ford, Harry Potter, Doctor Who, Sherlock, Emmy Rossum, Shameless (US), Being Human (UK & US), The Walking Dead, Once Upon A Time, Superman, comic conventions, cosplay...I could go on. But I won't. Cast of Characters: - Mom and Dad: my parents - Sister/Psychobrat: my younger sister - Brother: my even younger brother - Cortney and Nicole: my best friends - Milo: the guy I love - Tinny: my work friend - Kristen: friend from school - Katie: friend from school - Jenna and Kara: sister friends - The Ex: Milo's evil ex

2 thoughts on “The Jax Diaries”

Leave a Reply

