Steamy Dreams of Somethingness

I have really crazy dreams sometimes, and I’ve decided to try a thing where I just convert them into fiction here as they occur.

It was my first day at a new job and my co-workers were terrified.  It was hard to say what was worrying them, just that the atmosphere was like that of a Victorian factory.  Everyone kept their heads down and only conversed in hurried whispers.  There were no smiles to be found on any of the faces.

Later in the day I got to take a quick break for lunch, and a couple of people spoke to me then.  Everyone insisted that they were trapped in this place and had been for a very long time.  The boss, they said, was evil and had certain “powers”, like those of a wizard.  He kept them all here as slaves and had set up some sort of invisible line that, if crossed, would turn a person to stone.

I hadn’t met the boss yet and this seemed rather far-fetched to me, but it was clear these people were terrified.  Then someone said, “He’s coming!” and everyone tripped over each other in their haste to get to their desks.  Too startled to think, I instead found myself frozen in place.

As I stood there stuck in the headlights, from around the corner came the most luscious young Harrison Ford imaginable.  [Harrison Ford has been the Love Of My Life since I was 7 years old.]  I’m talking:

2cbf6eca7946f005ff61e5f7311a3413cfa2fffe91f00c2550f17d041e2956bfb28c7670ef3f1f6091eae48c65c8f7e4

I just stood and stared because for one thing, he was beautiful.  But I also realized I knew who he was because [plot twist] I had been chasing him from world to world, repeatedly winning his heart, only to immediately wake up in a new world and a new identity and have to start all over again.

He had never been evil before, however.  [Or so I told myself.  Apparently my subconscious forgot about such things as What Lies Beneath and about ten minutes of Temple of Doom, because let’s just go ahead and assume that all these different “worlds” I was supposedly chasing him through were Harrison Ford films.]

He stopped in front of me and introduced himself, then explained to me where my seat was, all sarcastically because I wasn’t in it.  As I sat down, he went on to give some intimidating speech to the people just to scare them [I have no idea what it consisted of] and left again.

Naturally, I rallied the people.  I told them my plan to offer myself up in exchange for everyone else’s freedom, and that whether or not my offer was accepted, they were to leave as soon as I had him distracted.  While he was distracted, I told them, his magic could not work.  [Dream logic.]  I was almost certain I would die for my audacity and that would be the end of everything, but a small part of me thought, I know him.  He can be good again.  Maybe this is how.

The next time he came around, we were ready.  I stood up.  I could feel everyone’s eyes upon me as I made my way across the room.

He raised an eyebrow as I approached.  “Miss Jones,” he said, “I thought I showed you where your desk was.”

“Let these people go,” I said, ignoring the rebuke.  “You don’t need them.”

“You think you can tell me what I need?”

“I know what you need,” I said.  We were standing face to face now.

For a moment nothing happened.  And then he kissed me.  [So jealous of Dream Me right now!]

I started gesturing to everyone behind his back to get out now, that this was their moment.  I didn’t know what was going to happen, but the more I kissed him, the less it mattered.  It was like slowly becoming intoxicated.  All I knew was that by the time we were done, he would be good or I would be bad and nothing else mattered.

Most unfortunately I woke up right then and didn’t get to find out what happened.  But I filled in the blanks.

4WRSV_D49TQP

Author: GinnyJones

I was born on 3/5/97 in this horrible small town in southern Virginia. Now I live in Jacksonville, Florida and I am here to tell you about my life--my friends, my family, love, school, work, extra-curriculars--minus specifics, of course. What I Do: I'm in school full-time getting my AA. I used to work part-time as the secretary for a small property management business; now I work in a university cafeteria, which is a major improvement! It's harder work, but the people make up for it. Things I Like: Harrison Ford, Harry Potter, Doctor Who, Sherlock, Emmy Rossum, Shameless (US), Being Human (UK & US), The Walking Dead, Once Upon A Time, Superman, comic conventions, cosplay...I could go on. But I won't. Cast of Characters: - Mom and Dad: my parents - Sister/Psychobrat: my younger sister - Brother: my even younger brother - Cortney and Nicole: my best friends - Milo: the guy I love - Tinny: my work friend - Kristen: friend from school - Katie: friend from school - Jenna and Kara: sister friends - The Ex: Milo's evil ex

Leave a Reply

