I Am A Rock

Oh geez.  So let me explain about the laundry–the laundry…criminy.  There isn’t one day a week that I can do laundry…Sister does hers every night.  She does this in the hopes that someone will complain and she can use her argument (the same one she’s used for years) that she “only has one pair of jeans” so she has to wash them every night.  Anytime I try to do my laundry, she suddenly realizes–oh, I have to do mine now–and brings them into the laundry room and starts yelling because my clothes are in the wash.  Is this sensible? No, I didn’t think so either.

Besides that, I have this thing where I have to have my clothes warm in order to hang them up so they don’t get all wrinkled.  So she’ll force me to take my clothes out of the dryer at the most inopportune times, like when I’m walking out the door, and they’ll get cold and wrinkled, and I will leave them in a heap in my room for a whole week, just drying for a few minutes the ones that I need.  So each night I come back to the dryer and attempt to dry my clothes again so I can hang them up–I only need to dry them for a few minutes to get them warm!  And each night, she forces me to get them out again because she has to do laundry.  This pisses me off to no end, but usually I just silently comply so as not to cause drama.  Tonight, however, I was having a pleasant conversation with Nicole and enjoying my dinner of clam chowder and mushrooms, and Sister stalks into the laundry room and demands that I remove my clothes from the dryer.  Her clothes are still in wash mode.  I said, “You can wait a few minutes; your clothes aren’t even done yet”, and she went back into her room.  A few minutes later, I was still talking to Nicole, and Sister went into the laundry room again and started yelling, “GET YOUR CLOTHES OUT NOW!!!!”  In my attempts not to yell back and just remain quiet, I actually started shaking.  It was interesting–my hand was shaking while I was trying to eat the clam chowder and I gave up on the food, and then of course, my dad got involved.  I was still talking to Nicole, trying to ignore my surroundings, but I could hear them in the background–

“SHE’S DRYING HER CLOTHES FOR THE THIRD TIME THIS WEEK!!!”
“Well are they wet?”
“NO, THEY’VE BEEN DRY SINCE LAST NIGHT!!”
“So why is she drying them now?”
“THAT’S WHAT I WANT TO KNOW!!!!”
“Ginny?  What’s going on with the clothes?”
“SHE’S DRYING THEM FOR THE THIRD TIME THIS WEEK!!”
“I know that, I’m trying to find out why.”
“NOBODY KNOWS WHY, SHE DOESN’T EVEN KNOW WHY, THERE’S NO REASON FOR IT!!”
“Well can you just get them out yourself?”
“NO, SHE WON’T LET ME TOUCH HER CLOTHES!!!”
“Ginny? What’s going on with the clothes?”

He always knows the perfect questions to ask Sister to piss her off even more and to further incriminate me.  It’s like they plan it that way.  Probably on their monthly walks or something.  So of course, at this point I had to jump in and attempt to plead my case.  I actually had a little success with this one–I asked why she should have to do laundry every night, and when she tried to explain that one, my dad actually told her to go buy another pair of jeans.  Wow.  However, the argument went on, and as usual, they both failed to see that I might have any reason whatsoever and everything I said went in one ear and out another.

Then my dad said, “I am so sick of all this arguing!  Why can’t the two of you learn to get along?”

I didn’t answer that, although I started shaking again in my resolution not to retort with my instinctual, “Well I’m sick of you siding with her all the time just because you like her better!!!” and instead, I disappeared into my room.  Criminy jicket.

Author: GinnyJones

I was born on 3/5/97 in this horrible small town in southern Virginia. Now I live in Jacksonville, Florida and I am here to tell you about my life--my friends, my family, love, school, work, extra-curriculars--minus specifics, of course. What I Do: I'm in school full-time getting my AA. I used to work part-time as the secretary for a small property management business; now I work in a university cafeteria, which is a major improvement! It's harder work, but the people make up for it. Things I Like: Harrison Ford, Harry Potter, Doctor Who, Sherlock, Emmy Rossum, Shameless (US), Being Human (UK & US), The Walking Dead, Once Upon A Time, Superman, comic conventions, cosplay...I could go on. But I won't. Cast of Characters: - Mom and Dad: my parents - Sister/Psychobrat: my younger sister - Brother: my even younger brother - Cortney and Nicole: my best friends - Milo: the guy I love - Tinny: my work friend - Kristen: friend from school - Katie: friend from school - Jenna and Kara: sister friends - The Ex: Milo's evil ex

2 thoughts on “I Am A Rock”

  1. so crazy to use something so small like laundry to start family drama… don’t really understand what’s your sister’s problem :/ try to be strong, dear! and don’t feed into their negativity. brush it off so it doesn’t eat you X

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

