I Miss Snow….

10806273_10101125837015642_1830429899475150567_n

…Okay.  I only somewhat miss snow.  All you really hear about snow nowadays is that it sucks.  What I miss is those days when the weather forecasters said, “A chance of snow tonight” and the school forecasters said, “A chance of no school tomorrow”.  I miss staying up late and waiting, wondering if it would actually snow, and then when it often did, standing outside in the dark with my family and listening to its silence.  Falling snow is a different sort of silence than just nothing silence.  Especially at night.  It’s more peaceful, soothing.  It’s magical.  I remember tilting my head back and staring at the sky, watching the snow fall on my face, having to squint as it started landing in my eyes.  I’d stick my tongue out and taste it…it had no flavor but cold, but still, it was nice.  I miss that about snow.  Then I miss waking up in the morning when the world was blanketed in it, and going outside with my sister and having to cover every white spot with footprints.  Why did we do that?  Lately I wondered why we felt the need to destroy something like that, but then I always think, “Well, it was there for us to walk on.  That’s what it was for.”

Yes, that was all very random.  I meant to go to bed over an hour ago.  Each night, when I stay up late, I’ll reach a certain point where I’ll feel, “Well, I may as well stay up the rest of the night now, no sense in trying to sleep.”  Then I always inevitably do fall asleep and end up with only a couple hours’ worth.  That’s what’s going to happen tonight.

That’s it. I need to stop rambling for the night or I will never get any sleep. It’s been a good day; sleep should be restful tonight.

Good night, all.

Author: GinnyJones

I was born on 3/5/97 in this horrible small town in southern Virginia. Now I live in Jacksonville, Florida and I am here to tell you about my life--my friends, my family, love, school, work, extra-curriculars--minus specifics, of course. What I Do: I'm in school full-time getting my AA. I used to work part-time as the secretary for a small property management business; now I work in a university cafeteria, which is a major improvement! It's harder work, but the people make up for it. Things I Like: Harrison Ford, Harry Potter, Doctor Who, Sherlock, Emmy Rossum, Shameless (US), Being Human (UK & US), The Walking Dead, Once Upon A Time, Superman, comic conventions, cosplay...I could go on. But I won't. Cast of Characters: - Mom and Dad: my parents - Sister/Psychobrat: my younger sister - Brother: my even younger brother - Cortney and Nicole: my best friends - Milo: the guy I love - Tinny: my work friend - Kristen: friend from school - Katie: friend from school - Jenna and Kara: sister friends - The Ex: Milo's evil ex

Leave a Reply

